SLanguages 2010 SUMMARY

On Friday and Saturday, 15-16 October 2010, the SLanguages 2010 conference took place over a period of 24h.

A newly founded committee took over the work from Gavin Dudeney and with the help of Carol Rainbow [Carolrb Roux] set out to conquer the most technically challenging quest ever: to run a . . . → Read More: SLanguages 2010 SUMMARY

SLanguages Closing Party

Sat 16 October 2010

10am PDT (SL Time)/ 5pm GMT/ 1pm CST (Chinese Standard Time) Sun

RECORDING: http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p41787909/(38min)

[JenzZa Misfit] is an animated dance loop sequencer and professional RL party animateur for weddings, birthday parties etc. Recently she started adding Second Life animations to her RL dance band, running simulcasts. The stimulating effect that these dance crazy avatars . . . → Read More: SLanguages Closing Party

Slanguages Closing Panel

Saturday, 16 October 2010

9am PDT (SL Time) / 4pm GMT / 12am CST (China Standard Time) Sat/Sun midnight
RECORDING: http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p93724103/ (1h 5min*)

Graham Davies [Groovy Winkler] and Gary Motteram [Gwared Morgwain]

This final plenary will reflect on what we have learned during the conference and look forward to the future. Please come along to share . . . → Read More: Slanguages Closing Panel

Kitchen Fire Session by Daffodil Fargis

Saturday, 16 October 2010
8am PDT (SL Time) / 3pm GMT / 11pm CST (China Standard Time)
RECORDING: will be provided by Nergiz

Nergiz Kern [Daffodil Fargis]

In this session Nergiz will demonstrate how a kitchen fire simulation in Second Life can be used in a language lesson. Participants will take on the role of students in this demo lesson. . . . → Read More: Kitchen Fire Session by Daffodil Fargis

Citta Ideale Tour by Misy Ferraris

Saturday, 16 October 20108am PDT (SL Time) / 3pm GMT / 11pm CST (China Standard Time)RECORDING: http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p21539219/ (23min * **only the beginning due to tech issues)

Carmela Dell’Aria [Misy Ferraris]

Carmela Dell’Aria has
been teaching Italian as a Foreign and Second language since 1999 in RL (Real Life) and in VWs (Virtual Worlds), where (in Second Life) since 2007 . . . → Read More: Citta Ideale Tour by Misy Ferraris

Demonstration of teaching tools by Misy Ferraris

Saturday, 16 October 20108am PDT (SL Time) / 3pm GMT / 11pm CST (China Standard Time)http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p27872251/ (40min* TEXT CHAT ONLY)

Carmela Dell’Aria [Misy Ferraris]

Demonstration of teaching toolsCarmela Dell’Aria [Misy Ferraris] has
been teaching Italian as a Foreign and Second language since 1999 in RL and in VWs, where (in Second Life) since 2007 she has been carrying out . . . → Read More: Demonstration of teaching tools by Misy Ferraris

Improving three elements involved in the learning process of a language by using tools designed for Second Life

Saturday 16 October 2010

7am PDT (SL Time) / 2pm GMT / 10pm CST (China Standard Time)

RECORDING:http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p88683133/ (1h 8min* – ONLY 2nd hour of recording and sound gets better lateron, the first hour was sadly lost)

Gloria Gomez-Diago [gloragdiago Galicia] and Akemi Mochizuki [Draceina Pinion]

Improving three elements involved in the learning process of a language by using . . . → Read More: Improving three elements involved in the learning process of a language by using tools designed for Second Life

Virtlantis by Kip Yellowjacket

Saturday, 16 October 2010
8am PDT (SL Time) / 3pm GMT / 11pm CST (China Standard Time)
http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p15511015/ (49min* **)

Kip Boahn [Kip Yellowjacket]

This presentation/discussion will aim to provide an overview of VIRTLANTIS and respond to any questions related to virtual world language learning. Although listed as a 1hr event, additional time will gladly be added to . . . → Read More: Virtlantis by Kip Yellowjacket

Dogme in Second Life with Scott Thornbury and Dennis Newson

Saturday 16 October 2010
7am PDT (SL Time) / 2pm GMT / 10pm CST (China Standard Time)
RECORDING: http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p51293195/ (55min* **)

Dennis Newson [Osnacantab Nesterov] and Scott Thornbury [Olivetti Oh]

The entry in Wikipedia reads: “Dogme language teaching is considered to be . . . → Read More: Dogme in Second Life with Scott Thornbury and Dennis Newson

Teacher talk in Second Life with Mats Deutschmann and Luisa Panichi

Saturday 16 October 2010

7am PDT (SL Time) / 2pm GMT / 10pm CST (China Standard Time)RECORDING: http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p32646995/ (53min*)Mats Deutschmann [Mats Teichmann] and Luisa Panichi [Jole Zhong]

In this study, we compare the first and the last sessions from an online oral proficiency course aimed at doctoral
students conducted in the virtual world Second Life. The study attempts . . . → Read More: Teacher talk in Second Life with Mats Deutschmann and Luisa Panichi